Kathmandu, Nepal

sabita nepal 5_Fotor

“I want to open a music school that is free for all kids in Nepal. Music is everything!”

Sabita, a cultured 15-year old with a gorgeous accent, was born in Kathmandu into the Brahmin branch of Nepal’s caste system. Brahmin’s represent the very top of this social scale, often becoming scholars and priests, and you could tell she was on one hand proud of her lineage, and on the other, yearning to be set free from class structures.

“Brahmins marry Brahmins. What if I want to marry anyone? I cannot in Nepal.”

She’s been in the United States for a mere 5 months. “I’m only 15, but I’ve been through a lot.” That was evident given her thoughtful, well-groomed english.

Residing in Salt Lake City is a little polarizing for her musically because she loved her Nepalese vocal teacher so much.  A longing in her voice echoed when she said that, “He taught all day, 12-15 hours. Everyone loved him.”

When asked what music she likes, she said, “if I could meet Axl Rose, I would hug him and tell him he’s my hero. I “get” him.”

I’ve heard a lot of things about Axl Rose, none of which were so inspirational. I, too, was enamored by Guns ‘N Roses nearly 8 years before Sabita was even born, and you could hear, see and feel Axl’s pain in every song, interview and performance. Her resonance with him is as empathetic as it is tribal. Birds of a feather flock together.

“I play guitar all the time. I listen to Queen, and 80’s and 90’s rock. I love rock.” I echo this sentiment since I, too, play guitar all the time and listen to the same.

sabita nepal 1_Fotor

It’s every so often that I give Reflexology at someone’s home, and I so appreciate Carmen (my set of Puerto Rican feet on this blog, here!) for her hospitality. Little did I know in arriving into Salt Lake for an essential oil convention that I’d wind up meeting a kindred spirit in Sabita. She is Carmen’s step-daughter. I am in awe of the web that weaves itself before me.

After her treatment Sabita said, “I really do feel better. That is really great!” Introducing people to the power of Reflexology is an incredible joy.

Sabita then described a little bit about the art that was so powerfully adorning the walls within the house.

“Thangkas are everywhere in Nepal,” she said, explaining that it’s ironic that a creative staple in Nepal is a highly coveted collector’s piece here in the states.

“There are several artists that work together. One Thangka is made by many different people. And, sometimes they even use real gold.” And, I’m the irony at work. I fell in love with the emotion these works elicited. I want one for our home treatment room. You’ll see why:

photo 3

photo 4

According to dharma-haven.org:  “Ancient teachings tell us that merely seeing the Medicine Buddha, or even seeing an image of the Medicine Buddha, or hearing the name of the Medicine Buddha can confer inconceivable benefits. In Tibetan images of the Medicine Buddha the left hand typically holds a blooming myrobalan plant. Tibetan (Nepalese) medicine recognizes three basic types of illness, the root cause of which are the conflicting emotions – passion, aggression and ignorance. Myrobalan is the only herb in the Tibetan (Nepalese) pharmacopeia that can aid in healing each of these three types of disease. This is like the action of the Buddha of Healing, who has the power to see the true cause of any affliction, whether spiritual, physical or psychological, and does whatever is necessary to alleviate it.”

Mind a little blown. I study a myriad of wellness modalities, like Reflexology, therapeutic-grade essential oils, meditation, Kundalini yoga…and this was the first I’ve heard of the Medicine Buddha. The opening these works of art have conjured in me and my heart reminds me why I left my corporate job to focus on being a bridge to my own and others’ health.

Speaking of which, every Reflexology treatment I give includes one or several doTERRA essential oils. A single oil can almost instantly reduce stress, open airways, eliminate pain or calm the mind. Sabita, perhaps not surprisingly, chose the newly released Cardamom oil. Cardamom is a staple in Nepalese cooking and this oil is concentrated bliss.

10639518_10152749185779314_5995246823289857063_n

Salt Lake City – thank you. It’s a treat to have landed somewhere for one purpose only to have my eyes and heart opened for another.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Leave a comment